Home Forum Ask A Member 1957 Johnson 35Hp Seahorse oil discharge in water

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    dcygan
    Participant

This is my first time posting on this forum. I’m looking for advice on whether or not it is normal for a 1957 Johnson 35Hp outboard to be discharging oil into the water. I did a partial rebuild, gearbox, impeller, and ignition system to get it up an running. I have not done anything to the powerhead. It seems to sound good when running at idle with it immersed in a 32 gallon trash can full of water. My problem is that it creates a lot of blue smoke from the 2-cycle oil being burned and a lot of unburned black oil also being discharged into the water. After about 5 minutes, a 3-4" diameter pool of black oil forms near the front of the lower housing (the oil pools together from the turbulence of the water as the engine runs, but quickly dissipates once the engine stops). My question is, is this normal or not?
      Thanks,
      Doug

crosbyman
      Participant

Canada Member - 2 Years

normal ..black is oily carbon oils are not black

Joining AOMCI has priviledges 🙂

jerry-ahrens
        Participant

US Member

All of what you have described is normal. Actually, any modern 2 stroke outboard motor will do the same thing when ran in a barrel, trash can, test tank, etc. That black stuff is unburned fuel/oil mix that exits the motor through the exaust. As for the smoking, that is the 24/1 fuel mix. DONT try to use less oil… these old motors smoke, nothing to worry about.

frankr
          Participant

US Member

The same question gets asked almost every day on various forums. Yes, it is normal Don’t fret about it. It also is why motors built nowadays are 4-stroke.

kerry
            Participant

US Member

Synthetic 2 stroke oil will reduce the smoke.

If you have too many, AND not enough, you're a collector.

outbdnut2
              Participant

US Member