Home Forum Ask A Member Correct plug for Elto Cub?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    lagrue
    Participant

I’m currently restoring a barn find Elto Cub. Restoration is going well, but I’m having trouble with the spark plug.

I’d like to install a proper threaded plug wire connection plug, but all I’ve been able to find is a slip on/friction type for use with a boot.

From the reference below, I ordered a Champion RJ12C (only plug I can find that cross references from the J12 listed in the link), but as mentioned above, it does not have the correct connection.

http://www.oldengine.org/members/diesel … ppmar2.htm

http://www.sparkplug-crossreference.com … AMP_PN/J12

Its been too long since I spent time close up with spark plugs (I work in the diesel engine industry) to decifer Champion’s code.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

eltoquad
      Participant

US Member

If your Cub had a J12 in it that’s not the correct plug. A J6C would be recommended today. A RJ12C is a resistor plug which your magneto might not even fire under compression (what little of it Cubs have)

lagrue
        Participant

Excellent info! Thank you.

J12 is what is listed in the reference link I put up.

I’ve got some J6C’s on hand for other Evinrudes that I own. Will put them to use!

The Boat House
          Participant

The original plug could have been a
            H-10 or a J-4. That chart is from an
            Evinrude / Elto Manual. As there is
            nothing listed after 1946. That would
            indacate when it was printed and these
            should be the original plug numbers.
            This is the plug I found in this motor
            when I got it.You could watch eBay
            and in time you may find an original
            plug depending how common there
            use was at the time.

The lower chart is from the Peter Hunn
            book and were probably available at the