Home Forum Ask A Member Evinrude N?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    viking66
    Participant

I bought a Cache of motors today. I got a 1923-24 RBM, a Super Elto and 10 other motors and a rolling rack. While going through I noticed what may be a Evinrude N? It does swivel and has N5166 stamped on it.

The tank does not look correct to me, but of course I am no expert 🙁

Here are some pics for identification. Please feel free to let me know if I don’t know crap, or maybe I am on to something.

Thanks as always…

kees
      Participant

International Member - 2 Years

Yes. I think you have an Evinrude model N sportwin
        but FWIW and MHO
        = tank is homemade
        = muffler has an extra homemade underwater exhaust
        = carb. ? don’t know, could be an old one, looks pretty original to me but I have
        on my engine the more common tillotson

😉

george-emmanuel
        Participant

US Member

Yep that’s an N and it has lost its i.d.tag, and has been stamped where the tag should be. As far as the tank it certainly looks homemade but that air vent in the center is an original piece that stumps me. Carb is correct and matches the one on mine.

George

kees
          Participant

International Member - 2 Years

I have two
            One with an original copper tank,
            then the ID plate is on the tank and that makes it a NS model with the bronze lower unit
            my more common model "N" has # 5438 on the ID plate and
            has also another carb. on it
            was it possible that they used 3 different types of carbs on these Sportwins ?
            just for info

viking66
            Participant

Thanks for the responses!

I was not familiar with the N model, and not even when the man told me that…"oh that one swivels on the bottm like a rudder" did I know it was different.