Johnson 2 hp Carb problem??

Home Forum Ask A Member Johnson 2 hp Carb problem??

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• JohnRude

Canada Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)
    Replies: 50
    Topics: 17

My first motor. I’m new to this. My 1974 Johnson 2hp has great compression and spark. It starts and runs OK but at low speed the choke has to be on full or it dies. At high speed it runs fine with the choke all the way in. It just won’t idle without full choke. What did I do wrong? New mag parts and cleaned the carb. New plug. Fresh fuel. New impeller. I don’t want to scrap it.

crosbyman

Canada Member - 2 Years
    Replies: 3588
    Topics: 326

if crankcase  vacum to pull in the fuel fumes is ok then the fuel is not being  extracted from the upper low speed circuit.

there is a very small side openning  in the  upper half of the carb  that sends fuel  up into a drip chamber.      it  needs to be open an clean

packing of the LS needles may be  faulty  allowing air to be drawn in .

Joining AOMCI has priviledges 🙂

• This reply was modified 1 year, 10 months ago by crosbyman.

billw

US Member - 2 Years
    Replies: 2071
    Topics: 66

Define “great compression.” Those engines will run, albeit poorly, with less than stellar compression. Ideally, compression should be 100 or up.