Home Forum Ask A Member New guy with question

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    tinkerman
    Participant

US Member

I some how have acquired the desire to restore antique outboards lol I’m new to boat engines but mechanically inclined. I have a 1955 10 hp Johnson that I bought. PO knows nothing about the history. It looks all original, extremely clean. When I took the cowl off their are white powdery splotches underside of cowl and all over the engine. Eloctrolosis with the aluminum I’m guessing. First where are the anode (s) located on this engine. Second, if I want to have a showroom looking boat, do I completely disassemble everything? Take motor off lower unit? To properly clean and paint everything this looks like the only option. Next , with all these calcium splotches on the outside, how do I know that thisnt happening on the inside? Does it seem logical to disassemble the engine and check all parts? Havnt checked the compression but pulling the pull rope gently, seems to have great compression. Any help- advice would be greatly appreciated

It's a jungle out there.

Buccaneer
      Participant

US Member

Sounds like you have some aluminum oxidation going on. Probably not much of
        a concern unless critical parts are deeply pitted. Assuming the internals
        of the engine didn’t get water inside, all my be well there. A compression gauge
        will tell you better what’s going on, if you have stuck rings, or worse.
        Important that the two cylinders have near the same compression, within 10%.
        If this is your first attempt on fixing up an old outboard, I would just go thru the
        basics first, fuel system, ignition, gear box, water pump, etc.
        Someone on the board will have a digital parts manual if you need one, and
        perhaps a repair manual as well.
        Have fun!

Prepare to be boarded!

tinkerman
        Participant

US Member