Home Forum Ask A Member New to AOMC with a 1963 mercury 200

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    nicholas soper
    Participant

As stated I’m new to AOMC and to outboards in general although I’ve owned plenty of old machines through the years. I have inherited my grandfathers 1963 Mercury 200( serial 1593204) and the accompanying 14 foot Starcraft from the the same era. I remember riding in it as a kid, but I’m pretty sure that it has been sitting in the shop at his house for the 15-20 years since then. I want to revive this motor and go for a rip across the lake again, but I know there’s probably a long road ahead of me. I’ve acquired an old copy of the Mercury factory service manual for pre-65 motors and that has been very helpful. My first attempt to start it showed me that I had no spark on the bottom cylinder.
      I removed the condensers and attempted to figure out how to “test” them with a multimeter, which I have now learned is mostly futile unless I could hook them up to a MercOtronic to load test them. The coils on this engine are riveted to the aluminum stator plate, so I really don’t want to remove them without justification. Any thoughts on the next steps to take on troubleshooting the lack of spark?

I have attempted to order a pile of parts(impeller, lower unit seals kit, carb kit, fuel pump kit, condensers) from Oldmercs.com but they are in no hurry get them shipped. I’ve since found much of the parts for this engine on eBay, but not ordered any since i don’t want duplicates at this point.

20mercman
      Participant

US Member

The 1963 200 is a real icon motor for Mercury. It is one of my favorites! (mine is in my avatar) They were a transition motor for Mercury, first year going back to full gear shift, last year of the cloud white paint, and the large cast Mk-28esk top cowl. A great looking motor and great performer.