1949 Johnson 10hp QD-10 igntion questions

Home Forum Ask A Member 1949 Johnson 10hp QD-10 igntion questions

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)

• parker

Replies: 5
    Topics: 2

I’m new to working on vintage outboards and am just getting in to tinkering with a QD-10 that’s been sitting around for at least 25 years. I’ve got weak spark (enough to shock me but not enough to visualize) on the top cylinder and no spark on the bottom. Compression is good. The coils appear original so I’m guessing that’s part of my problem. Can someone point me in the direction towards upgrading the coils to using the later style that’s still available? I’ve read this is possible with a little fabrication but can’t find a DIY.

Through the port of the flywheel I can see the coils and the points. The points I see don’t match what’s in the parts catalog. Can anybody shed light on these in the attached image? Was going to check and see if I could clean the breaker but these look different than what I’m used to seeing. Part number 510054. Can’t find much information out there. Thank you in advance!

RICK EICHRODT

US Member - 2 Years
    Replies: 267
    Topics: 79

It is my opinion that you may have good coils but dirty points and maybe faulty condensers. This ignition system has a magnet rotor that spins close to the coils, they face inward to the rotor. Meter the coil and read for secondary continuity. Go from spark plug wire to the ground on the coil and you should get an ohm reading. If you get an open reading, just like holding the two ends of your ohmmeter apart, then you have bad coils. If you do get a good reading, somewhere between 1000 and 5000 ohms, then the coils "should" be good. Clean the contacts of the points and install new condensers and then see what kind of spark you get. I am sure others will chime in with their opinions. Take your time and do some research!

garry-in-michigan

Lifetime Member
    Replies: 3583
    Topics: 31