Home Forum Ask A Member 1966 mercury 650?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    balbers
    Participant

Hi all…..newbie here…..there is a 1966 Merc 650 for sale locally…..claims to run good, recently tuned….wants $500…..unfortunately for me a short shaft….need a long shaft…..thinking of buying anyway and finding a boat to match…..thoughts on this motor?…anything in particular to be careful of or look for
      Thanks!
      Bob

crosbyman
      Participant

Canada Member - 2 Years

test compression MANDATORY before buying …

check for any mechanical flaws ( gears shifting ok ?)

check all wiring for crumbling wires…. apparently a frequent event on older Mercs

check gearcase oil for water contamination….but clean oil may also mean a recent refill

hopefully fire it it up

does it look loved and cared for or abused …..

Joining AOMCI has priviledges 🙂

billw
        Participant

US Member - 2 Years

Crosbyman said it perfectly. All the things he mentioned are known to often be a problem on those motors. All I have to add is that it is actually pretty cool that it’s a short shaft, even though I understand that it won’t help you. Those are hard to come by, and people will want it, just for that. Don’t expect to get a zillion dollars for it; but they do have some demand, for older, smaller speed boats.

I might add that in salt water, those motors will pretty much disintegrate like Alka Seltzer.

Long live American manufacturing!

• This reply was modified 5 years ago by billw.
          76-j
          Participant

One more thing, from personal experience. The female splines on end of the crankshaft, which mate with the driveshaft , are known to wear / rust away.
            Buyer beware as you won’t know until you use the this outboard, or upon swapping lower units, observe the condition of spline(s).
            *I recently Trashed a complete powerhead minus it’s carburetors, and fuel pumps.

outbdnut2
            Participant

US Member