Home Forum Ask A Member Water in the driveshaft?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    vikkip
    Participant

I’ve been resurrecting a 1950 TN26 that’s been sitting for 49 years and it now starts and runs on one pull. It spits water out of the tell-tale. It has two issues:

Once it’s been running 5 minutes or so, it starts to run roughly and spit out the slow needle port. If I put it in gear and throttle up, it will start to bog and will stall within a minute or so. (running in a barrel)

Also it is spitting water out of the top of the driveshaft tube through two small slits on the side of the tube. I don’t think that’s supposed to happen.

I am brand new to outboards, so advice to this rookie is appreciated!

frankr
      Participant

US Member

Check the fuel filter in the tank. Spitting is a sign of running lean (not enough fuel)

I’m not sure what slits you are speaking of, but it probably is normal. Probably exhaust relief ports. Spent cooling water goes out with the exhaust. Perhaps somebody with a TN can look and confirm.

wedgie
        Participant

These two holes ? Edit: oops, the pic is of a tn20

vikkip
          Participant

That’s them! I was just marking up a photo. All the manuals and forums mention watch the tell-tale, which is in the elbow on the other side, but I hadn’t found any reference to those holes/ports/whatever they are.

wedgie
            Participant

Sorry, It’s been a while since I’ve had this one running so I don’t remember noticing water coming out those two holes. 😳

Mumbles
              Participant

Idle relief ports?

frankr
                Participant

US Member

Exactly, they are exhaust relief ports to reduce back pressure for easier starting and better idle. And the cooling water that has gone through the powerhead and done it’s job does blow out those holes. It was on it’s way back to the lake anyway.

49hiawatha
                  Participant