Home Forum Ask A Member color chart for Lausons 1940-1956

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    lauson73
    Participant

I am new to restoring outboards and am looking for color chart or any information on original colors of 1940 to 1956 Lausons, have bin a member on this site for about 8 months and started with one Lauson now have 25 Lausons so time to start restoring them.
      Having hard time finding info on serial numbers to year on model 410 (1940-1947) ,paint colors,parts,any anybody with info on these motors.
      Also where would I find info on how to restore motor correct.
      thanks for all help
      Doug

Anonymous

Sorry I can’t help you but just had to say holy cr**, 1 to 25 motors in 8 months??? You are one sick puppy! 😆

Buccaneer
        Participant

US Member

Doug, I only have one Lauson, a 6 hp T-651 which I just got.
          Perhaps by the time I get around to working on it, you’ll
          be the "Lauson" expert, and I’ll be asking for advise!
          P.S.- I’m missing the side cowlings, so if you have extras,
          I might be interested! 😉

Attachments:

Prepare to be boarded!

jcrigan
          Participant

One color that was a good match was the appliance epoxy paint that you could find at most any store’s paint department. Maybe harvest gold? I don’t see it on the shelves any more. I have used Krylon colormaster "Bauhaus gold" with good results. Use a clear coat on this paint as gas will dissolve it almost immediately. The legs on all these motors seem to be a dull aluminum. On the 410’s the gas tank and the lower shrouds were also dull aluminum. The blue color you may have to find a match for that. I will take a painted part with me to a parking lot and compare the color with the cars there. Sometimes I get lucky and can get the right paint for my motor.

lauson73
            Participant