Home Forum Ask A Member Koban piston – conrod assembly

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    sputnik16335
    Participant

Hi all-

The Koban project has taken a few lurches forward lately. With the help of the forum, I’ve managed to find a set of pistons. They are the correct size, and it looks like all of the enbloc Koban pistons interchange. These fit the bores, but they’re pretty snug. They seem to need a lot of force to move them in the bores of my power head. The bores in my cylinders are very nice, and I honed them a bit to slick them up. The gap on the rings seems to be OK, too.

My question is, can anyone steer me to someone who can resolve the piston fit? At the same time, I should probably have the conrod-to-crankshaft fit checked. I’m looking for someone who knows about old motors (I’ve had some really bad experiences with machinists, one of which really made a mess of a nice old upright Maytag).

I’ve managed to find most of the other parts, but I still need some details and parts for the linkage from the tiller to the rudder…

Moving forward at glacial speed-
      Thanks
      Rich R

pm-t2
      Participant

Canada Member - 2 Years

regarding the piston fit – I’d suggest measuring the bore with a telescoping gauge and micrometer, then measure the piston skirt to verify the clearance. Using a rule of smashed thumb, I usually suggest it should be in the vicinity of 0.002" of clearance per inch of bore diameter.

if the piston to bore clearance checks out, look at the radial thickness of the rings next. The gap might be correct, but if the radial thickness is excessive, the sealing surface of the ring will be proud of the ring groove surface.