Home Forum Ask A Member New to this. I have questions

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    pmd83
    Participant

Hi, I have had multiple referrals to this site, so here I am.
      I am totally new to boating. My Dad and I just restored our project, about 1 year to complete.
      1962 – 17 ft. Barbour Boat Works – Model 17D (mahogany, Silver Clipper Deluxe with mahogany/glass windshield) Repainted to original color scheme Seafoam Green on Evergreen with a black pinstripe.
      1961 Merc Model 400 EL, Serial 1389583 in Cloud White. 45 HP, 4 cylinder.
      1959 TeeNee Trailer, sandblasted and painted original canary yellow.

I am working on a website documenting the project it will take some time.

My questions:
      The 2 blade prop has a chip out of it about the size of half a penny. The boat seems to have a speed that it doesn’t like, it shakes the boat with a noticeable vibration, it happens at faster than a putt putt speed but you can throttle through it and it goes away. I have some telling me it is the prop, I am just not sure of that. Thoughts? I am not having much luck finding a replacement prop, any advice? Also can I do greater than a 2 blade prop and if so, what would that provide me? I told you I am new to this.

There is an oil/exhaust leak in what I assume is a gasket between the power head and the upper shaft. It leaves a drip resembling a couple half pieces of spaghetti. It does not seem to effect the running of the Merc. Is this a serious issue, as in it should not be run until fixed?

Third question, what should I be using for a gas oil ratio? I have had suggestions all over the place. I ran 32:1 in the first outing and then topped the tank off (1/2) with a 40:1 mix. I hear things about the "new" TCW3 oils calling for leaner mixes.