Home Forum Ask A Member Recoil starter sticking – 1958 Evinrude 3 hp

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    DougConrad
    Participant

Canada Member

When I tighten the screws holding the starter in place the rope won’t return. It seems the screws are pushing the recoil into the flywheel. When I loosen them it works. Thinking about trying some spacers in between the the gas tank bottom to raise it up.

As well the throttle handle seems hard to move.  This is my first time working on this type of motor. I have removed the flywheel 3 times with a puller trying to get the timing right. New ignition parts and carb kit. Had it going briefly in a barrel.

Thanks,

Doug

Buccaneer
      Participant

US Member

While I don’t see where the parts diagram shows spacers under your tank,
        some motors come that way, and I’ve had to “tweak” several like you suggest.

Did you remove the magneto plate itself, clean, inspect, and lube where it
        swivels on the powerhead?
        Are you aware about the tension screw on the magplate to adjust how easy
        it turns?

Is the motor still not starting / running as well as you like?

Prepare to be boarded!

DougConrad
        Participant

Canada Member

I did not remove the mag plate.

I am not aware of the tension screw. The manual I have doesn’t seem to show it.

I’m going to adjust the starter and give it another go.

Thanks.

crosbyman
          Participant

Canada Member - 2 Years

make certain all parts are there

is this a new to you motor……… or just a new problem that came up after  a cord change ??

Johnson Starter Group Parts for 1958 3hp JW-14 Outboard Motor (marineengine.com)

1958 Evinrude 3026 3 hp Outboard Motor Parts (marineengine.com)

Joining AOMCI has priviledges 🙂

DougConrad
            Participant

Canada Member

This is a motor given to me by my father 20 years ago. Hasn’t be going since then.