Home Forum Ask A Member 1975 Chrysler 10hp 2 stroke refurbish questions

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    adiastra
    Participant

Ok here is my engine.
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAINXaCK2mc&t=45s
      I purchased it in running condition off craigslist for $150. I found that it overheated so I started learning about these engines (im new to marine engines)

That video was taken after I replaced the fuel pump gaskets, inline fuel filter and impeller (which was the main issue)

I have followed this video about tuning the carb https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bTsQC0zDIc as best as I can, and have been watching as many of Ben’s videos that relate to my motor as I can. As such I have also ordered condensers and will pop off the flywheel and replace the condensers/clean the points.

Everything is going well and I believe this engine will do what I need it to do.

The only question I have is about a slight cracking sound that can be heard at high revs. This is a sound I have heard before on dirt bikes but it just sounds harsh. If this is normal then all is well, but im just not sure. Is there a good video of what a high revving small 2 cycle outboard sounds like? I just dont want to get on the water and blow this thing up.

Side note I have 91 octane in in and we have E10 here. All the rubber on this engine seems to have been replaced fairly recently (the fuel pump gasket was the new version, the hoses are supple and soft). Not sure if that makes a difference as it relates to my question but figured I would include that info.

rco
      Participant

Sounds to me like it is "four stroking" which is normal when the engine is revved in a no load condition. You really shouldn’t run it much above a fast idle without a load.

rudderless
        Participant

…agree with RCO….please do not rev without a load…put it in water and let us know how it runs..;)

Mumbles
          Participant