Home Forum Ask A Member Frustrating little Cub — Now Running!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    lagrue
    Participant

I have a little Cub which I’ve finished restoration on recently.

Unfortunately, I cannot get it to run more than a few seconds. I’ve had a couple nice long runs which have given me hope. I’m a former small engine mechanic, and currently work for one of the largest engine mfgs in the world, so I really don’t want to make this just a man cave ornament! Somewhat a matter of pride!

What have I tried?

Engine has a converted Merc chainsaw mag, per Bob D’s great instructions. Interestingly, it tests out well, and shows spark on my main tester, but not my backup tester.

Tank and fuel system are clean. Fuel lines are new. Made a leather washer as a packing washer for the needle. Seems to run most often and longest with needle about half a turn open.

I re-doped the float and it floats well. However, it does seem that the seat does not seal the best.

Poppet valve is set to .050" lift. Made a new gasket for the base of the needle poppet assembly.

Points are clean (whole assembly) and set to .018". I’ve tried .020 as well and found no real difference.

Runs on a J6 plug, but not a J4 or J12. I don’t have an H10 to test. All are gapped to .025.

Fuel is all non-eth 16/1.

I’m interested to see if there is anything that I’ve missed.

frankr
      Participant

US Member

I gotta suspect the ignition is not up to snuff. I say that because it ought to run on any of the plugs you mention. Maybe not long term,
        but it ought to at least start and run.

Next, I suspect the condition of the piston, rings, and bearings (crankcase sealing)

garry-in-michigan
        Participant

Lifetime Member

I would suspect crankcase sealing. Try using SAE 40 wt. low ash oil. . . 🙂
          \

The Boat House
          Participant

I would also suspect poor sealing of the bearings .
            Add somemore oil to the fuel.