Home Forum Ask A Member Stalling 1965 Merc 39

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    merk39
    Participant

Recently bought a 12′ John boat with a 1965 3.9 HP Merc 39, every time we take it out it runs great for 20mins then stalls out. Starts right back up runs for a few minutes then stalls again. Changed spark plug, fuel lines from tank to motor and filter. I only use Shell 90 octane off road non ethanol fuel mixed 50 to 1. This didn’t help although motor did respond very well to new plug and filter, started half of first pull. Since the fuel pump operates on crankcase pressure does the motor coming to a higher temp cause the diaphragm to fail if worn out? I’m new to outboards and boating and greatly appreciate any help, the local shops wont even talk about anything except late model. Though they take my money pretty quick when I don’t want advice.

auldscott
      Participant

US Member - 2 Years

That sounds like a fuel problem. There are a couple of quick and easy tests you can run: when the motor starts to slow down, squeeze the primer bulb to bypass the fuel pump. Also, try removing the fuel tank cap; if the vent hole under the knob is blocked, the motor will run OK with the cap off.

Third (and I ran into this myself) be sure the line from the motor side fitting to the fuel pump is clean, and take the fuel pump apart and clean it carefully. Tiny bits of dirt can get under the valve discs. Use a magnifying glass to check.

The diaphragm shouldn’t be affected by operating temperature but if it is cracked, holed or torn, replace it. (I have had very good service from Ferguson-Poole Inc.)

Look into the tank. If there is a lot of debris, it is possible that the fuel intake inside the tank is clogged.