Home Forum Ask A Member 1957 Evinrude 18HP will not start

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    mistermusky
    Participant

Hi all,
      Newbie here. This is my first project with an outboard of any kind, much less a 61 year old one.
      Over the years I’ve worked on dozens of lawn mowers and tractors so I have a general knowledge of small one an two cylinder engines.
      So I kinda know what I’m doing. In addition, I’ve spent many hours combing the web for forums and videos in an attempt to educate myself in this area. The knowledge I’ve acquired has been vital in getting things to where they are now.

I’ve kept a diary of my work and I’ve included a summary here:

After reading lots of forums and watching endless YT videos, I tried my best to educate myself into the workings of the motor. The one thing I really wanted to upgrade was the ignition. Someone had installed automotive plug wires which needed to go. I removed the flywheel and the magneto plate, tested the coils, points and condensers (which looked fairly new), all good.
      I installed the new wires, locking them into the plate underneath, and new plugs.
      In the meantime I removed the starter and the carb. I had seen a YT video that recommended you clean the carb and parts by boiling them in lemon juice. I gave it a try and they came out sparkling clean. I purchased a carb kit and installed a new float, needle valve, gaskets, etc. Note: I removed the remote choke and accompanying linkage because I am not going to use it. I reinstalled the carb, hooked up the linkage, and reinstalled the starter.