Home Forum Ask A Member ‘62 5.5 evinrude

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 33 total)
  • Author
    scottshea
    Participant

Hey everyone. New member looking for some help with my 62 evinrude 5.5. To quickly get to the point I have this motor. Been in the family since the 60’s. Taken care of well and I’m looking to continue the lineage and teach my 4 year old how to drive. This winter I freshened the rude up with all the trimmings. Got it running and idling reasonably well but the motor will not handle a load. Carb has been rebuilt, new fuel lines, gaskets, fuel pump, filter, tank and hose. Did it myself so mistakes could have been made since I’m no expert but these motors are pretty simple. Anyhow, tried a different set of tank conectors and hose to eliminate that. Tightened all packing gaskets. Can not get a tune that will get me any kind of throttle under load. The motor will idle on a hose or at the dock. I can idle around town without too much issue. As soon as I try and add throttle the motor doesn’t respond then eventually bogs until she shuts down. Then she doesn’t want to run again until some time passes. I think she’s flooded at this point. After rowing home multiple times for multiple days in a row I conceded and took it to an outboard shop. Well it’s been two months and they admitted they don’t know what’s wrong and I got the motor back today. Does anyone have any suggestions? One thing I did do that’s ‘unconventional, I replaced the power head bolts with Allen head bolts. I did my best to get the lengths right. Using washers where they were too long. I do not know if this can have an effect. Oh. Don’t want to forget to mention. Motor revs wonderfully in neutral or in gear on a hose. Running 32:1 fuel. Ignition side has been rebuilt as well. Coils, wires, and condensers. My gut is telling me it’s a fuel side issue and I’m suspecting a vacuum leak of some sort. I’m now invested and feel a little over my head. Plus this motor is in just too good of sh