Home Forum Ask A Member Evinrude lightwin head gasket

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 51 total)
  • Author
    Boonie
    Participant

Canada Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)

Replacing the head gasket on my lightwin 3 hp. Do I need to use sealant? Or install dry?

Boonie
      Participant

I have never used gasket material like this before. Also what is the torque for the head bolts?

A60C9D9F-03D4-4B01-B67A-EB69B90A4F4E

• This reply was modified 3 years, 3 months ago by Mumbles.
        bobw
        Participant

US Member - 1 Year (includes $3 online payment fee)

I typically install my head gaskets dry, but some folks use a sealer around the water passage only, not on the cylinder surfaces. Here’s a torque chart.

Torque-Chart-OMC-copy

Bob

1937 Champion D2C Deluxe Lite Twin
          1954 Johnson CD-11
          1957 Evinrude Fastwin 18
          1958 Johnson QD-19
          1958 Johnson FD-12
          1959 Johnson QD-20

“Every 20 minute job is only a broken bolt away from a 3-day project.”
          "Every time you remove a broken or seized bolt an angel gets his wings."

• This reply was modified 3 years, 3 months ago by Mumbles.
          Mumbles
          Participant

These small heads tend to warp over time allowing the head gasket to blow between the two cylinders. While it is off is a good time to lap it flat again using 220 wet n dry on as hard, flat surface. A piece of plate glass works perfect for this.

dave-bernard
            Participant

I would not use sealer only on the water jacket. that would make the cyl and head looser fit and make it blow easier. just my opinion.

• This reply was modified 3 years, 3 months ago by dave-bernard.
              bobw
              Participant

I would not use sealer only on the water jacket. that would make the cyl and head looser fit and make it blow easier. just my opinion.

• This reply was modified 3 years, 3 months ago by dave-bernard.