Home Forum Ask A Member New Member Introduction

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    Gary Haight
    Participant

US Member

Hi all- I am a new member to AOMCI. I am a retired auto/truck/heavy and light equipment mechanic.  I Live in NJ but visit Maine and upstate NY on vacations.  I know about the Pine Tree Boating Club chapter and have met a few of the members. Great guys and that is why I joined AOMCI. I have been tinkering with outboards for many years but 12 years ago, I was involved in a work accident and lost my lower left arm among many other injuries. Small outboards are easier for me to work on with one arm. I used to restore antique cars and trucks as a passion until my accident. Is there a list of all AOMCI chapters and contacts on this website that is viewable?

This is my latest finished restoration. 1953 Evinrude 15 hp Super Fastwin. I junk picked it out of a scrap metal pile. It was a “let’s see if I can get this heap going” type of motor. It must have sat outside in a pond for a long time. I got it started but it ran real bad but I knew it had compression and spark. All parts disassembled, cleaned and glass beaded. New gaskets, seals, ignition, water pump, carburetor rebuild.  I am not good at painting so a body shop painted it for me. Pictures of completed motor are too big of a file to post, so these pictures show it before the engine cover is on.

IMG_2904

bobw
      Participant

US Member

Gary – welcome to the club; you will find lots of helpful folks here on the Forum.  That’s an outstanding restoration on your ’53 Evinrude.

If you go under the “About” heading at the top of the Forum page, you can click on the Active Chapters heading to find a listing.

Bob

1937 Champion D2C Deluxe Lite Twin
        1954 Johnson CD-11
        1957 Evinrude Fastwin 18
        1958 Johnson QD-19
        1958 Johnson FD-12
        1959 Johnson QD-20

“Every 20 minute job is only a broken bolt away from a 3-day project.”