Home Forum Ask A Member Re: 1949 Johnson HD-25 Overhaul: A beginners perspective and guide for the compleat idiot

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 37 total)
  • Author
    vwbusman66
    Participant

Hi all, I am a complete beginner with outboard motors, so bear with me. I, fortunately, am not a mechanical idiot and have a good idea of what I’m doing. I was out antiquing and have always wanted an older outboard, and my wish was granted! I know that it is from the 40’s, 50’s, 60’s, but would like some help id’ing it. I will be going back tomorrow to look at the id tag. It has good compression and is complete, and the tank doesn’t smell like varnish.

James

chinewalker
      Participant

US Member

If I had to guess, it would be a late 1940s HD-25, 2.5hp, although it could be the bigger brother TD-20, 5hp. Hard to tell with those two pics. Model number would be on left side of the cylinder block, down low. Might have to remove lower cowling to see it.

vwbusman66
        Participant

What side would that be on in reference from behind. Would that be below the engine housing on the left? Also, where would you guys recommend buying parts from a good dealer with good service?
          James

vwbusman66
          Participant

And where would I find a service and shop manual for it?

chinewalker
            Participant

US Member

When referring to sides of a motor, it is always looking forward.

vwbusman66
              Participant

I guess I probably have about 50 questions. Who do I go to for parts? Where do I get a repair or parts manual? What are the starting procedures? Can someone point me to a thread or explain to me the best way to get it running? What would the ratio or fuel to oil be? 50:1, 24:1? I guess I just need a lot of different advice. How would I go about bench running it? I know I need a bucket of water and a mount.
                James

chris-p
                Participant

This is a good page for that motor to start with!