Home Forum Ask A Member 1957 Evinrude Fastwin 18hp Carb Problems after rebuild

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 49 total)
  • Author
    cesarp35
    Participant

Hey guys i’m pretty new to outboards and this forum so excuse my ingnorance, i recently purchased a 1957 Evinrude Fastwin motor model 15020 from an elderly gentle man who stated that the motor had been stored in his garage for the last 25 years or so, it looked to be in pristine condition, i brought it home and hooked it up to the gas tank out of curiosity and darn thing fired up however impeller was not pumping water, so i turn it off, i decided to purchase a lower unit gear seal kit, carb kit and water pump kit, i replaced and rebuilt the mentioned items, i went to start the motor and it started and ran for about 30 seconds the water pump and lower seals worked great, however it now starts and and dies after a few seconds, theirs seems to be a lot of gas coming out from the main carb chamber as if it’s flooding, as i prime the primer bulb i can see gas spilling out of the carb, i’m going crazy as i took the carb apart 3 times now to see if there’s anything i missed, float was adjusted level to carb housing and everything seems fine, seems like float is not closing all the way for some reason, any help is greatly appreciated guys!!!

billw
      Participant

US Member - 2 Years